Support for Pure O OCD

I was recently diagnosed with Pure O OCD after finally deciding to address the issue and visit a therapist. I often experience threatening thoughts and have to count to 15 so that my family and I will be alright. Sometimes I have to count three times to that number if I don’t feel a sudden relief. I have prescribed medication, and I might be suggested therapy in a few sessions. However, I don’t want to be alone on that journey, and I wonder if someone here suffers from the same type of OCD. Even if not, I would be extremely relieved to have additional support. :purple_heart:

Hey @Andy84, I suffer from false memory OCD but still, I wish to help you on your journey. Simply stick to your treatment plan and try to be optimistic about the outcome.

I am beyond happy to feel your support. Everything is so new to me, but I will try my best to follow your advice. How is your OCD journey going?

I’m pretty new to therapy too. In fact, I started a few weeks ago with it and it still feels like hard work for me. Nevertheless, I am happy and optimistic about the future and you have to be too. :hugs:

I would love to help you with whatever I can, too, @Andy84. If you are unsure about whether you found the right therapist or other tips, look through the forum. We have already posted some helpful material.

Keep up the spirit, @Andy84. We are here to help each other so do not hesitate to share more information about your journey or ocd in general.

Ocd update: I am put on ACT therapy, and even though there are so many events in my life, I feel more stable and confident than before. I am sure your support played a significant role in my journey too. Have a great week, amazing people. I’ll write back soon :pizza:

Congratulations on your future healing. Also, remember to take small steps and share your journey with others to get enough support.